I Wish I Had a Time Machine

digital rendering of an airship

I can’t tell you the number of times I’ve thought that. Not that I’m a big sci-fi nut and I can’t lie I’ve never read the novel by H. G. Wells nor have I watched Dr. Who.  But I do know that if I were to have a time machine I’d have a lot of fun.

I know that I’d have to make a list of questions for all the ancestors that I’d like to go back in time to visit. Can you imagine; “Hi, you don’t know me but I’m your great-granddaughter from the future. Can you tell me the name of your son’s father?” Or ok; let me get this straight…..

Even to just to back and see what it was like to live in that time period. When you look at photos of places in the past,  it’s not the same as walking the streets, smelling the smells and just to generally get a feel for what people thought was important.

Take this picture from Jasper Avenue, Edmonton, Alberta, Canada;  1906. This isn’t what we would consider grid lock today.  edmonton

 

But it would be fun to walk those street and see what the people were doing, where they were going and to see how complicated or uncomplicated your ancestors lives were.

Can you imagine your ancestors surprise when they realized that the secret that they thought they had hidden and got away with all those years wasn’t really a secret after all and that you were hot on the trail and in some cases using DNA (of course you’d have to explain what that was) to try to figure out the answer to the secret. <sigh they could have been just, honest>… but those were different times.

So I ask you…. “if you had a time machine, who would you visit  and what would you ask them?”

 

 

2 thoughts on “I Wish I Had a Time Machine

  1. I can7#821&;t thank you adequately for the blogposts on your website. I know you placed a lot of time and effort into these and really hope you know how much I appreciate it. I hope I’ll do the identical thing person someday.

    Like

Leave a comment